Gallatin County Supporting Los Angeles Fires

Gallatin County Emergency Management

Two fire engines from Gallatin County departed this week as part of three Montana strike teams (16 fire apparatus) heading to help Los Angeles County.  Firefighters from Big Sky Fire Department and Central Valley Fire District have been deployed through a state to state system of resource sharing known as the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC).  These crews are expected to spend about two weeks in Los Angeles supporting the county in fighting the fires currently ravaging the area.  When Montana experiences significant wildfire seasons, like this past summer, we receive help from agencies in other states around the US.  The departments sending fire engines to LA are excited to have the opportunity to return the favor by helping out when we have the capability.  Additionally, the firefighters heading to California will gain valuable experience that they will bring back to Gallatin County when they return.

In addition to Big Sky Fire Department and Central Valley Fire District, the following Montana fire departments provided resources through this EMAC request:

  • Missoula Rural Fire District
  • Missoula Fire Department
  • Columbus Rural Fire District
  • Evergreen Fire Department
  • Marion Fire Department
  • Whitefish Fire Department
  • Big Fork Fire Department
  • Red Lodge Fire Department
  • Corvallis Fire Department
  • Park County Rural Fire District 1
  • Fisher River Fire District
  • Bull Lake Fire District